Visiting the Five Holy Takhts

There are many who are eager to take a spiritual tour of the country and seek blessings from the almighty to protect their kith and kin. Visiting the Five Holy Takhts as the saying goes is not a plan, but a calling by the almighty to reach the abode of the Guru and to get blessed in spirit. The best way to reach is by undertaking train journey. The 5 sacred Takhts in India are in Patna, Nanded, Bhatinda, Amritsar and Anandpur Sahib. This religious tour by train is a must visit for those who would like to reach the sacred soils of the powerful saints, gurus and seers and to seek their blessings for the overall well being of the family.

Visiting the Five Holy Takhts

9 Day Itinerary (Delhi – 5 Holy Takhts – Delhi)

This tour also showcases the ancient culture, customs, heritage and social practices of the people of Punjab and their spiritual side. A well made itinerary will help the religious tourists to seek spiritual experience.

  • Day 1: Board ‘The Deccan Odysey’  train at Delhi.
  • Day 2: Reach and halt at Anandpur Sahib – Kirapur Sahib (Sri Keshargarh Sahib Takht)
  • Day 3: Reach and halt at Sri Akal Takht, Sahib, Amritsar
  • Day 4: Reach and halt at Sri Damdama Sahib Takht, Bhatinda
  • Day 5: Visit Jaipur and check out the locations and halt.
  • Day 6: Visit Agra, check out the majestic Taj Mahal and other heritage sites and halt.
  • Day 7: Visit Sachkhand Sri Hazur Sahib, Nanded and halt.
  • Day 8: Reach Patna to visit Sri Patna Sahib Takht and halt.
  • Day 9: Take train to Delhi from Patna. End of Journey.

Details of the journey

The train is to be taken from New Delhi’s Safdarjung Railway Station. It reaches Anandpur Sahib, a historical town and seat of Sri Keshgarh Saheb Takht and among the sacred pilgrimages in the country for the Sikhs – Anandpur Sahib. Located on the Himalayas’ lower spurs, it is enclosed by natural scenery and lined by Satluj River. The Khalsa was created by the great guru here and Anand Karaj Sahib Gurudwara, a personal space was created, where marriage of Guru Gobind Rai took place with Mata Jito.

Then the train reached Amritsar. Here are located the famous Sri Darbar Harmandir Sahib, Sri Akal Takht Sahib and the Golden Temple. It is considered to be a symbol of strength and magnificence.

The train on the 4th day moved to Taiwandi Sabo or Sri Damdama Sahib Takht, Bhatinda. Here, the gurus sought refuge and rest during the battles with the powerful Mughals. For nine months, Guru Gobind Singhji had stayed here in Damdama Sahib and worked upon the Adi Granth and to propagate the Sikh faith, naming it the Khalsa de Takht or the Throne of Khalsas.

The train then moves to Nanded, where Sachkhand Sri Hazur Sahib Takht is located. Here the guru had camped in 1708 AD. The final destination is Patna, with the takht located about 20 km from the airport. It is here that the great 10th guru Gobind Singhji was born. This gurudwara is constructed by Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

During the entire spiritual journey, one can Order Food from Train of their choice.

Share this post